I woke up this morning in Fort Collins, Colorado. The Beatles’ song “Back in the USSR” played in my head, with the USSR replaced by the US of A.

 🎶 🎶 I’m back in the US of A

You don’t know how lucky you are, boy

Back in the US of A.  🎶 🎶

It reminded me that I’m once again firmly entrenched in American life. So many people ask me, “Why did you decide to return?” There isn’t a simple answer, but William Shire comes close to capturing it in his autobiography, Twentieth Century Journey.

“An American abroad, I had found, was always a foreigner, however long he had lived and worked in those European lands. No matter how well he spoke their languages, absorbed their cultures, knew their people, and adapted to their great cities, he was forever a stranger. It was not a role I intended to play to the end of my days. Eventually, I had to return to where my roots were, embedded in the American earth. I would return to Europe…but I had made up my mind; I would go home—for good. Much as I loved the Old World and felt at home in it, I would not stay on. I would not become an expatriate.” 

Although I’m no longer writing about my adventures from abroad, I want to update you on the past few months and where we’ve landed. All-in-all, it’s been a leisurely and successful transition from our life overseas.

Ron and I departed Barcelona in May. Not having a place to call home or a physical address was initially quite unsettling. But we each had two bags, a phone, and a computer, which was enough. We set out to wander around Europe for the summer. The plan was to give ourselves time to adjust before leaving Europe for good. Over 77 days, we visited eight different countries and 21 cities.

Croatia – Dubrovnik, Split, Opatija; Bosnia & Herzegovina – Mostar, Sarajevo; Italy – Trieste, Verona, Venice, Bologna, Padua, Sirmione, Bellagio, Milan; Switzerland – Chur, Basel; France – Colmar; Germany – Nuremberg, Rothenburg, Kolbermoor; Austria – Reutte; and Ireland – Dublin

We anchored ourselves a month in Verona but, otherwise, moved around as the mood struck us. It was a hot summer, so we chased cooler weather in the mountains of Switzerland and Austria.

We finished up in Dublin, cutting short our plan to tour the rest of Ireland. When we arrived to pick up our car, we discovered renting a car in Ireland was more difficult than expected. While we were prepared to pay $1,000 for a car, we weren’t ready to spend another $1,500 for insurance and $350 to take the car into Northern Ireland. Our credit card company covers rental car insurance overseas, but Ireland requires a specific written letter attesting to liability coverage. Three hours of phone calls to MasterCard led to limited success. They agreed to write the authorization letter, but couldn’t commit to sending it for a week.

That was it—we were done! Ron and I looked at each other and simultaneously admitted defeat. It was time to go. We hopped into a cab, directed the driver to take us to a hotel near the airport, and booked a flight out for the following day. We landed back in the U.S. at my sister and brother-in-law’s house in southern California in mid-August. Home at last!

We definitely had culture shock upon our return. The sheer size of the grocery stores and the amazing array of goods was overwhelming. And I could not believe the prices—nearly double what I’d become accustomed to in Barcelona. 

At my sister and brother-in-law’s house, we binged on all the American TV shows (without subtitles) we’d missed in our six years away. We watched television in the backyard under clear skies and palm trees. The television screen rose from an outdoor fireplace controlled by an app on our phone. What luxury! In this little part of the world, it seemed the sun shone every day; everyone drove a Mercedes; and all the women had chic haircuts with blond highlights. I was living every foreigner’s fantasy of America—it’s seductive, even knowing it’s not true for all Americans. 

I’d forgotten how open and friendly Americans can be. I never felt ignored in Barcelona, but people don’t make as much eye contact or initiate conversations with strangers. At first, it felt like my privacy was being violated. Having a car again was heaven. My shiny, new, red car became a zone of privacy that I didn’t realize I’d missed until I hit the road, turned the music up, and sang offkey to myself. 

Upon my return, I was also reminded of America’s spirit of generosity. My sister and brother-in-law’s friends invited us to their homes and devoted much time and thought to entertaining us. The holidays soon arrived, and volunteerism was in high gear as people committed themselves to helping less fortunate families. In Europe, taxes are high, and government programs abound, so there’s much less focus on private charity. 

Comparisons aren’t fair, of course, but the lifestyle in America feels more fast-paced and less relaxed. It’s more focused on work and achievement, with leisure activities closely resembling the workplace. You don’t see parents sitting outside a café for hours while their children kick around a soccer ball. Kids are more independent in Barcelona and get around by themselves on public buses at a relatively young age. Personal safety is something people take for granted in Europe.

Now that I’m back, I’m looking forward to enjoying the lifestyle afforded to us in Colorado. We chose Fort Collins as a place to settle because it met so many of the criteria we sought: it is a medium-sized city, a college town, has a climate with plenty of sunshine, lots of open spaces and parks, and a nearby international airport. We’d never been to Fort Collins before we showed up on January 1. It was recommended by friends who’d listened to our wish list and suggested we check it out. Their daughter went to school here at Colorado State University, and they’d come to love it.

We’ve begun to settle in. I’m busy taking art, geography, and history classes at Colorado State University. We’ve joined the Fort Collins Newcomer Association—Ron has begun hiking with the group and signed up for golfing, and I’ve volunteered to lead a monthly Travel Group.

I want to continue my travel business and writing practice. My longstanding writing group from Bainbridge Island is intact, and we meet via Zoom twice a month. They’re encouraging me to explore new avenues, and we’ll see where that leads. Perhaps I’ll use this blog to share essays or short stories in the future.

Again, thank you for following my adventures at “Travel With Me” and for all your interest and encouragement over the years.

22 Comments on “Back in the USA

    • Thank you for the update on your adventurous life. I hope that I get to see you sometime this year. My grandson, Kyle Greene, goes to the University of Colorado and plays on their hockey team. He loves it there. I am hoping to go there before he graduates. Welcome HOME.

      Like

  1. Welcome home to you both! What an amazing adventure you had.

    As I think you know, we left SoCal five years ago and have never looked back. Although we do go back to visit kids and grandkids and friends we love our life in Prescott.

    I really enjoyed your blog and look forward to hearing about your next adventures.

    Take care, Regan 💕

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. Gosh, Nancy. It was helpful to read William Shire’s sentiments about moving back to his homeland. I felt similar after living in Hong Kong for ten years. I’d loved exploring Asia, and I’ll always be keen to explore new places (as long as I’m able)! Building “belonging” as an expatriate is a thrilling adventure, and those challenges fueled a lot of valuable learning and growth for David and for me.

    But there’s something to be said for returning to a place where you and others share in common those “dyed in the wool” sorts of things. Part of what makes home HOME.

    Welcome to Fort Collins! I laughed out loud at the “settling in” that you described, waiting to hear a word about “putting our feet up.” Ha! Both of you are delightfully proactive and seizing the day! BTW, Nancy, I’d be thrilled if you keep on writing and bringing stuff to Alpha group. I’m rooting for you 🙂

    Welcome to the continuing adventure of our lives! I wish you and Ron a lot of pleasure, friendship, and joy! Love, Jenn And I’d like to see you again!

    Like

    • Jenn, you always understand precisely what I try to convey. I love that! Thanks so much for the heads-up on the upcoming PBS Dante program. I’ll connect with you after watching it.

      Like

  3. Nancy, you are awesome! You’ll grow and thrive wherever you are. Thank you for this interesting update of your ongoing adventure. Please know that whenever you come back to Bainbridge, I’ll have dinner waiting for you.

    Carla

    Like

  4. Hi Ron and Nancy- I’m going to forward your post to my brother Dave who lives outside of Denver with his wife Phyllis. Dave would love to connect with you both. So I will pass this on and let him take it from here. Welcome home to you both!!! Cousin Lynn

    Like

  5. Hi Nancy,

    I am Ron’s cousin Dave Johnstone. My wife (Phyllis) and I have been living in Colorado since 1981 with the exception of a couple two-year stints in Atlanta and Hong Kong. My mom Gloria is his mom’s sister. I would enjoy the opportunity to reconnect with Ron and meet you as well. Just subscribed to you blog so you have my gmail address.

    Thanks.

    Dave

    Like

  6. Great read again Nancy! So happy to hear that you and Ron are settling in so well. It looks gorgeous, can understand why you picked Fort Collins. When I visited Barcelona last month it did feel strange that weren’t there though! I do hope we’ll meet again someday. Lots of love from Montreal this time.

    Like

    • Thanks, Marilou! I’ll need to plan a trip sometime to see you in Montreal on one of your visits to Emilie. I’ve never been to Montreal but it’s on my list.

      Like

  7. hi Nancy and Ron!

    wonderful to hear you are stateside and settled in Ft. Collins! I know you will bloom there and hope you are also connecting with a church community.

    come visit anytime’!!

    Xo. Barb Ames

    Like

    • So good to hear from you, Barb! Yes, Ron and I have been busy checking out local churches. There are many good options—we’ve been to five so far and would be happy with any one of them. Who knew Fort Collins would have so many churches that attract solid attendance?

      Like

  8. What an amazing life it’s been for y’all with more to come! Hope we can get together soon – it’s been nearly 6 years since I visited in Barcelona – time flies.

    Like

    • I know; who would have thought Ron and I would have moved around so much and that you’d become a flight attendant after teaching? I hope our paths will cross again soon!

      Like

Leave a comment